What Should You Do to inherit Eternal life?

Matthew 19:16-26

16Now a man came up to Jesus and asked, “Teacher, what good thing must I do to get eternal life?”

17Why do you ask me about what is good?” Jesus replied. “There is only One who is good. If you want to enter life, obey the commandments.”

18“Which ones?” the man inquired.

Jesus replied, ” Do not murder, do not commit adultery, do not steal, do not give false testimony, 19honor your father and mother, and ‘love your neighbor as yourself.

20“All these I have kept,” the young man said. “What do I still lack?”

21Jesus answered, “If you want to be perfect, go, sell your possessions and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.

22When the young man heard this, he went away sad, because he had great wealth.

23Then Jesus said to his disciples, “I tell you the truth, it is hard for a rich man to enter the kingdom of heaven.

24Again I tell you, it is easier for a camel to go through the eye of a needle than for a rich man to enter the kingdom of God.

25When the disciples heard this, they were greatly astonished and asked, “Who then can be saved?”

26Jesus looked at them and said, “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible.

The verses above tell the story of a rich young ruler who approached Jesus to ask what he should do to attain eternal life.   The rich young ruler also told Jesus that he kept all the commandments (Exodus 20:12-16)

Then Jesus answered, “If you want to be perfect, go sell what you have and give to the poor and you will have treasure in heaven; and come, follow Me.”

Then a couple of verses later, Jesus said, “Assuredly I say unto you that it is hard for a rich man to enter the kingdom of heaven.

We now live in a society that focus too much importance on material wealth and possession. This was also that same during Jesus’ day.

How many of us are ready to part with our computers,toys,cars, gadgets, game consoles, mp3 players, clothes, jewelries and other material possesions to enter the kingdom of heaven?

I am sure you would say,  okay…but I really need this thing…right now…

Jesus said in Matthew 22:37 – “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all soul, and with all your mind.” and the second is the like it = “You shall love your neighbor as yourself”.

How many times in a day do we let God know that we love him? To love God with your hear, soul and mind means that every cell in your body should by coated with a constant love for God. And every thought and emotion should be about Him – not about career, money, fame, material possessions and leisure activities.

JUST FOCUS ON JESUS!

In closing, I want to share with you a couple of last words by famous men on their deathbeds who gained worldy prominence and lived for themselves.

M.F. Rich:

“Terrible horrors hang over my soul! I have given my immortality for gold; and its weight sinks me into a hopeless, helpless Hell!”

Thomas Paine:

“I would give worlds if I had them, that The Age of Reason had never been published. O Lord, help me! Christ, help me! . . No, don’t leave; stay with me! Send even a child to stay with me; for I am on the edge of Hell here alone. If ever the Devil had an agent, I have been that one.”

Sir Thomas Scott:

“Until this moment, I thought there was neither God nor hell; now I know and feel that there are both, and I am doomed to perdition by the just judgment of the Almighty!”

Sir Francis Newport, the head of an English infidel club:

“You need not tell me there is no God for I know there is one, and that I am in His presence! You need not tell me there is no hell. I feel myself already slipping. Wretches, cease your idle talk about there being hope for me! I know I am lost forever! Oh, that fire! Oh, the insufferable pangs of hell!”

The last words of the atheist Mirabeau:

“My sufferings are intolerable; I have within me a hundred years of life but not a moment’s courage. Give me more laudanum that I may not think of eternity.”

Gibbon, the historian, a skeptic:

“The present is a fleeting moment, the past is no more, and my prospect of futurity is dark and doubtful.”

Caesar Borgia:

“While I lived, I provided for everything but death; now I must die, and am unprepared to die.”

Thomas Hobbs:

“I say again, if I had the whole world at my disposal, I would give it to live one day. I am about to take a leap into the dark.”

Voltaire:

“I am abandoned by God and man; I will give you half of what I am worth if you will give me six months’ life.” (He said this to Dr. Fochin, who told him it could not be done.) “Then I shall die and go to hell!”

Clarence Darrow, the Scopes Trial lawyer in the famous 1925 debate, while on his deathbed asked several clergymen to “please intercede for me with the Almighty. During my life I have spoken many times against Christians, and I now realize that I may have been wrong.”


And here are last words of Christians who believed and followed the teachings of Jesus Christ.

Dwight L. Moody, famous preacher and founder of the Moody Bible Institute, while on his deathbed:

Can this be death? Why it is better than living! Earth is receding, heaven is opening. This is my coronation day”

John Wesley, preacher and songwriter:

“The best of all is that God is with us, farewell, farewell.”

Michelangelo, famous painter and sculptor:

“I die in the faith of Jesus Christ, and in the firm hope of a better life.”

David Brainerd, (well known missionary):

“I am going into eternity and it is sweet to me to think of eternity.”

Charles Haddon Spurgeon, beloved preacher and author, on his deathbed:

“I can hear them coming!” He sat straight up in bed and asked: “Dont you hear them? This is my coronation day. I can see the chariots, Im ready to board.”

When Christians die, they often report, on their death bed, of seeing angels and even the Lord coming to take them home. Quite often they hear the most beautiful singing they‟ve ever heard. The closer to death, the more  beautiful the sound.

THE FINAL WORDS OF UNBELIEVERS ARE COMPLETELY DIFFERENT FROM CHRISTIANS!

Leave a Reply

